Login   Register     FAQ    Members

View unanswered posts   View active topics

Board index .:|:. Slogging at Lessons :: Books .:|:. Thrilling Terms at La Rochelle
It is currently 24 Sep 2020, 06:11

Post subject: HEIDI and other Alpine Literature
PostPosted: 22 Nov 2019, 13:33 
Order Mark!
Order Mark!

You know where I'm going on this...

I've just picked up a copy of Heidi (a novel I might or might not have read as a child in the 1970s, I honestly forget) because it seems an obvious link to CS. Indeed, Armada's second cover (Joey + mountain + goats) seems designed to emphasise the shared imagery (to the point of massively over-estimating the importance of goats in the narrative!). Obvious question is about whether this book is an influence on CS? Are there any characters called Heidi in the series or is it a name which EBD conspicuously avoids? I'm a newbie here, but I'm sure long-term fans have gone over the question exhaustively in the past (hands up if you saw this thread and thought "Not damn Heidi again") - so, what conclusions have been reached? And what other Alpine literature has been discussed down the years?

Top | End

Post subject: Re: HEIDI and other Alpine Literature
PostPosted: 22 Nov 2019, 14:09 
Sale declared Open!
Sale declared Open!

I've never read it. However I suspect that a lot of CS readers have and that they are influenced by it even if EBD wasn't. It's probably also an influence on how other cultures view the Alps, which again would have an impact on CS readers.

I don't think there's any character called Heide but I'm prepared to be corrected.

I also don't recall any previous discussion on the subject - other school stories yes but not other mountain stories.

Top | End

PostPosted: 22 Nov 2019, 14:10 
Attending a prees' meeting

I can't remember ever discussing Heidi on here nor would I link it to the CS in any way. To me Heidi sits on the same bookshelf as Frances Hodgson Burnett and Susan Coolidge.